Design a site like this with
Get started

“Hit List” by Stuart Woods

In the Minot-Sleeper Library, Stuart Woods takes up just about an entire book shelf, and more than two-thirds of these books are from the Stone Barrington series. The book recommended to me, “Hit List,” is number 53 in the series and was published in March of 2020. In the remaining nine months of last year, Mr. Woods published 3 more books to continue the series, and books 57 (“Double Jeopardy”) and 58 (“Class Act”) as expected this year.

For those wondering how on earth an author could write 50+ books about the same characters, prepare to be even more amazed. The Guin Saga by Kaoru Kurimoto, a 130+ volume anime comic with an additional 22 novels featuring side stories, is said to be the longest known book series ever published. For mysteries, the Destroyer series is said to be the longest at 152 books. Read more here.

In “Hit List,” the main character, Stone Barrington, lives an extravagant life with multiple homes internationally, a private jet, his own personal chef and housekeepers, and a couple of Bentleys. He manages to maintain this rich lifestyle while trying to save his own life by hunting down the person who has him on a hit list. This fast-paced mystery is packed with action – from gun fights to car, airplane, and motorcycle chases. Every page drips with wealth – from high-end restaurants serving aged wine and whiskeys to shopping at Bloomingdale’s and plastic surgery being a standard procedure.

I suspect Stone Barrington will be around for awhile. There is no sign of Stuart Woods concluding this series, and with the popularity of his books, this series is likely to continue to be a go-to for those looking for a page-turner with lots of action.

Want more? Below are other popular mystery series available at the Minot-Sleeper Library.

Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone series (otherwise known as the alphabet series). Start with “A is for Alabi.”
Note: “The alphabet now ends at y.” Read more at:

John Sanford’s Lucas Davenport series (otherwise known as the prey series). Start with “Rules of Prey.”

C.J. Box’s Joe Picket series. Start with “Open Season.”

Louise Penny’s Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series. Start with “Still Life.”

James Patterson’s Alex Cross series. Start with “Along Came A Spider.”

Up next: “Once Upon A River” by Diane Setterfield. This book will be discussed with the Minot-Sleeper Library’s Third Monday book group on Monday, February 22 at 10am. Copies of the book are available at the library and can be requested by calling 603-744-3352 or emailing Already have a copy, but wish to take part in the talk about the book? Email me at We would love to have you join us for the discussion on Zoom!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: